FPGA Arcade Logo
General ramblings
Thu, 15 Feb 2007
MikeJ
general post category image

Well, hello again. Is it too late for Happy New Year? Well Happy Chinese new year at least then. I have been spending quite a bit of time in China lately, which is one of the reasons for not updating this website so often.

I have been working on Wolfgang Foerster’s 68K core, attempting to run it along side a real chip to test it. This is going well but is quite time consuming. Does anybody have a software test suite for a 68K, perhaps for testing a software emulator? If so then please drop me a mail.

I have also been working on my arcade FPGA board with is going to be really flexible. It has an optional 68K on it and a large expansion connector into which you can plug a JAMMA adapter. I really want it as an AtariST development platform, but it will of course be great for running the games on. No idea yet on timescales and cost.

I realised that all I needed to finish the Scramble game was an AY-3-8910 VHDL implementation. Then I realised I already had one in the shape of the YM2149 code I have had knocking around for ages. I did have to write a 8255 core however - which I expected would take about ten minutes but ended up taking two evenings, it has so many funny modes. The audio board is complete and seems to work however, so I hope to release this platform soon. (however the pub is calling …)

Sean has sent me a Pacman Multigame release which I will stick up here shortly.

Right, enough chat - back to work.

p.s. it is damn cold in Stockholm at the moment, when do they turn the heating back on again ??