FPGA Arcade Logo

Categories

Blog: general

FPGAArcade development board
Mon, 10 Mar 2008
MikeJ
... is nearing completion (really, honest). Placement is complete and routing is going well. I hope to get some pictures up in a week or so. It is an ECX size board measuring about 14cm by 10cm and designed to fit in a case. It has a large Spartan3E Xilinx FPGA, quality audio and video output (including DVI) and a PIC...
Continue reading...
VIC-20 released on Spartan 3E board
Sat, 12 Jan 2008
MikeJ
I have updated the VIC-20 code to run on the Xilinx Spartan 3E board. It now supports cartridge images held in the on board flash memory. I have fixed a timing error in the T65 code and this has been updated also (Library page)...
Continue reading...
Atari ST chips completed, work started on FPGA board
Sun, 23 Dec 2007
MikeJ
Well, it's been a little while since I last posted any news. I have completed the four Atari ST ASICs and am co-simulating them. I am in final stages of designing a low cost FPGA platform which will be ideal for the games, but also for running the Atari and Amiga (MiniMig) FPGA clones on. It has an expansion connector into...
Continue reading...
Atari ST 'Glue' custom completed
Tue, 28 Aug 2007
MikeJ
Arnim Läuger has reverse engineered some Konami custom ICs. As he has kindly released the firmware you can use the 28 pin modules available on the Parts page as replacements for these devices. It has been a busy month for me, I've been in Asia a lot again. I am celebrating completing the reverse engineering of the Atari ST Glue custom...
Continue reading...
DDR memory controller needed
Sun, 1 Jul 2007
MikeJ
I survived the mud at Glastonbury Festival! Had a superb time, met lots of great people. Right, there is no way round it, I am going to have to write a DDR memory controller for the Spartan3E board. The ones that are out there are not flexible/high performance enough for my Asteroid needs, and I cannot modify and redistribute the Xilinx...
Continue reading...
Scramble & Frogger released
Wed, 13 Jun 2007
MikeJ
At long last (almost two years) I have completed the Scramble / Frogger code - I am easily distracted! The hardware is very similar, so I have added a compile time switch to allow it to run both games. Many other games can be run on this hardware, so I am sure a multigame will be produced at some point. This...
Continue reading...
Philips Videopac
Sun, 10 Jun 2007
MikeJ
The Philips Videopac G7000 (or Odyssey2 as it was known in America) was released in 1978 to compete with other cartridge based systems such as the Atari VCS. Powered by an Intel 8048 CPU and a custom Intel IC known as a Video Display Controller (VDC) generating all sound and video. The console did relatively well with more than 60...
Continue reading...
Frogger sound working
Tue, 5 Jun 2007
MikeJ
Finally got Frogger sound working !!! There are many small differences between Scramble and Frogger boards - mainly address pin swaps, but there are a few hard to find ones. In Scramble one of the AY3-8910 sound chips uses bits 7,6,5 & 4 as inputs, but in Frogger it's bits 7,6, 3 & 4. "5" and "3" look really similar on...
Continue reading...