FPGA Arcade Logo

Categories

Blog: general

Board respin
Mon, 14 Sept 2009
MikeJ
Well, I was away for a little longer than expected, then got Flu and then went to Amsterdam so I now need a bit of recovery time :) The idea was to get the boards assembled in China, but having talked to the other developers they really wanted a few changes in the way the joystick ports are used. Having the daughter...
Continue reading...
Countdown to production .....
Sat, 15 Aug 2009
MikeJ
Rather busy here, I will be in Asia next week so I will get 50 or so boards made. These will be the RevB board which has a few minor tweaks, so I am trying to finish testing the prototype PCB. Still no support from Chrontel (who make the DAC) who are strangely uninterested. I have made some measurements of...
Continue reading...
Too much beer ....
Sun, 9 Aug 2009
MikeJ
It's been very sunny in Stockholm this week, so there has been much beer drinking and less time working on the bringup :) I have made a minor patch to the board to fix the Chrontel power issues - still no word from them on this problem. 1080P and 720P output is working well, and I have made several measurements...
Continue reading...
Bring up continues
Fri, 31 Jul 2009
MikeJ
This week I have coded up the boot loader OSD. This took more time than I expected as a decent anti-aliased fixed space font is hard to find. I ended up writing some software which takes the output of Angelcode's font renderer and converts it into a suitable format for the FPGA. The OSD is up and running and I have...
Continue reading...
DVI working
Sat, 25 Jul 2009
MikeJ
A brief update to say the video output is working well. I've tested DVI -> HDMI at 576i/50Hz (Pal) and analog out with a DVI to VGA cable. Both work fine, although I am upset that the M227WD TV chops off the outer few pixels in HDMI mode - but they are there in analog mode. I will implement some other...
Continue reading...
All Replay prototype hardware is now built
Tue, 21 Jul 2009
MikeJ
Phew, never again am I hand building more than one board this complex! I have been away on holiday at Glastonbury music festival, and then to recover from that I had another two weeks away. Now I am back, and apart from some contract work to finish (which pays for this project) I have more free time to work on the...
Continue reading...
LCD PCB
Thu, 4 Jun 2009
MikeJ
I have been really busy finishing off some contract work, so I have not had much time to complete the Replay bringup. I am ordering some more PCBs so I did a quick layout of a daughter board for the LCD. It has an analog joystick and some buttons. Really, it's just to play with the LCD, although I might...
Continue reading...
Large patch daughter board
Wed, 6 May 2009
MikeJ
I've finished the layout of the large patch card needed for testing with a real 68030 processor. The board is also used to test the IO on the main Replay card. The three daughter boards will go to manufacture tomorrow. Four main boards are now in existence and have gone/going to developers. I've been busy getting all the components together for...
Continue reading...